Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Victoria Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Victoria public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Employees in Victoria are allowed time off for public holidays including New Year’s Day; Australia Day; Labour Day; Good Friday; Easter Sunday; Easter Monday; Anzac Day; Birthday of the Sovereign; Melbourne Cup Day; Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

If a public holiday falls on a weekend, employees are entitled to a replacement holiday, to be taken on the first work day after the designated holiday.

Additional holidays may be approved by the Minister of Labour, which are published in the Government Gazette. Designated extra holidays may be allowed as full paid holidays or half-day holidays, depending on the type of holiday and the territory or region in which it is celebrated.

Holidays Law in Victoria

Laws pertaining to public holidays are regulated by the Public Holidays Act 1993, established by the Parliament of Victoria.

The Bills of Exchange Act of the Commonwealth designates certain observances as bank holidays. Each Saturday is officially designated as a bank holiday throughout the State. According to the Employee Relations Act 1992, all workers are entitled to paid holidays or paid half-holidays without loss of wages. Employees in Victoria are entitled to not less than 12 paid holidays per year.

If a public holiday falls on a weekend or non-working day, another day is designated as a replacement or substitute holiday. In Victoria, all full-time workers are entitled to a minimum of four weeks of paid annual leave after every year of consecutive employment. Australian labour laws mandate that shift workers are entitled to five weeks of paid annual leave. The law does not stipulate whether annual leave must be taken at one time or may be taken in increments.

Public Holidays 2017

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Victoria State Government.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Day
Additional Holiday
26 JanThuAustralia Day
13 MarMonLabour Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatEaster Saturday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
25 AprTueAnzac Day
12 JunMonQueen's Birthday
29 SepFriAFL Grand Final Friday
7 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day **
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

** All of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Visit for the original release.