Start Planning

Australia Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

1 JanSunNew Year's DayNational
2 JanMonNew Year HolidayNational
11 JanWedDevonport CupTAS
26 JanThuAustralia DayNational
13 FebMonRoyal Hobart RegattaTAS
22 FebWedLaunceston CupTAS
6 MarMonLabour DayWA
7 MarTueKing Island ShowTAS
13 MarMonCanberra DayACT
13 MarMonMarch Public HolidaySA
13 MarMonEight Hours DayTAS
13 MarMonLabour DayVIC
14 AprFriGood FridayNational
15 AprSatDay following Good FridayNational except TAS & WA
16 AprSunEaster SundayACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
17 AprMonEaster MondayNational
18 AprTueEaster Tuesday *TAS
25 AprTueAnzac DayNational
1 MayMonMay DayNT
1 MayMonLabour DayQLD
5 JunMonWestern Australia DayWA
12 JunMonQueen's BirthdayNational except QLD & WA
30 JunFriBorroloola Show DayNT
7 JulFriAlice Springs Show DayNT
14 JulFriTennant Creek Show DayNT
21 JulFriKatherine Show DayNT
28 JulFriDarwin Show DayNT
7 AugMonPicnic DayNT
16 AugWedEkka Wednesday *QLD
25 SepMonFamily and Community DayACT
25 SepMonQueen's BirthdayWA
29 SepFriAFL Grand Final FridayVIC
2 OctMonLabour DayACT, NSW & SA
2 OctMonQueen's BirthdayQLD
6 OctFriBurnie ShowTAS
12 OctThuRoyal Launceston ShowTAS
20 OctFriFlinders Island ShowTAS
26 OctThuRoyal Hobart ShowTAS
6 NovMonRecreation DayTAS
7 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day *VIC
1 DecFriDevonport ShowTAS
24 DecSunChristmas Eve *SA
25 DecMonChristmas DayNational
26 DecTueBoxing DayNational except SA
26 DecTueProclamation DaySA
31 DecSunNew Year's Eve *SA

— South Australia has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital TerritorySouth Australia
New South WalesTasmania
Northern TerritoryVictoria
QueenslandWestern Australia

Australia celebrates seven national public holidays that are recognised in each of the eight states and territories. However, each state also has its own public holidays that are recognised in their region. Some of these holidays may be the same as other states or simply celebrated on different days.

Public holiday law is determined by each of the states and territories of Australia. The federal government has established only the seven official holidays and has granted each area their own power to create additional holidays for their areas.

The Fair Work Act of 2009 requires that all employers provide additional pay to their employees that are required to work on a public holiday. Most work contracts in Australia provide employees with a pay rate of double and one half their normal per hour rate for all work completed on a holiday.

Commerce is restricted or prohibited on some national holidays such as Easter and Anzac Day morning. And, if an employee is required to work on public holidays due to their job, they are still entitled to the premium pay rate for holiday work.

Most viewed holidays today: