Start Planning

Australia Public Holidays 2019

This page contains a calendar of all 2019 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

1 JanTueNew Year's DayNational
9 JanWedDevonport CupTAS
26 JanSatAustralia DayNational
28 JanMonAustralia Day HolidayNational
11 FebMonRoyal Hobart RegattaTAS
27 FebWedLaunceston CupTAS
4 MarMonLabour DayWA
5 MarTueKing Island ShowTAS
11 MarMonCanberra DayACT
11 MarMonMarch Public HolidaySA
11 MarMonEight Hours DayTAS
11 MarMonLabour DayVIC
19 AprFriGood FridayNational
20 AprSatDay following Good FridayNational except TAS & WA
21 AprSunEaster SundayACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
22 AprMonEaster MondayNational
23 AprTueEaster Tuesday *TAS
25 AprThuAnzac DayNational
6 MayMonMay DayNT
6 MayMonLabour DayQLD
27 MayMonReconciliation DayACT
3 JunMonWestern Australia DayWA
10 JunMonQueen's BirthdayNational except QLD & WA
28 JunFriBorroloola Show DayNT
5 JulFriAlice Springs Show DayNT
12 JulFriTennant Creek Show DayNT
19 JulFriKatherine Show DayNT
26 JulFriDarwin Show DayNT
5 AugMonPicnic DayNT
14 AugWedEkka Wednesday *QLD
30 SepMonQueen's BirthdayWA
4 OctFriBurnie ShowTAS
7 OctMonLabour DayACT, NSW & SA
7 OctMonQueen's BirthdayQLD
10 OctThuRoyal Launceston ShowTAS
18 OctFriFlinders Island ShowTAS
24 OctThuRoyal Hobart ShowTAS
4 NovMonRecreation DayTAS
5 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day *VIC
29 NovFriDevonport ShowTAS
24 DecTueChristmas Eve *SA
25 DecWedChristmas DayNational
26 DecThuBoxing DayNational except SA
26 DecThuProclamation DaySA
31 DecTueNew Year's Eve *SA

— South Australia has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital TerritorySouth Australia
New South WalesTasmania
Northern TerritoryVictoria
QueenslandWestern Australia
Most viewed holidays today: