Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Queensland Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Queensland public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

In Queensland, laws pertaining to public holidays are regulated by the Holiday Act 1983. The Minister of Labour has the authority to substitute designated holidays for other days.

Holiday dates are published annually in the Government Gazette in November or December for the following year. Most workers in Queensland are entitled to nine paid holidays per year.

Official holidays in Queensland include New Year’s Day; Australia Day; Good Friday; Easter Monday; Anzac Day; Labour Day; Queen’s Birthday; Christmas Day and Boxing Day. If New Year’s Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a weekend, a replacement day is granted during the following week.

All holidays are paid according to regular pay scales. Replacement holidays are permitted, depending on work schedules and agreement between the employee and employer. Additional holidays may be allowed for observances of local and regional cultural festivals.

Labour Laws in Queensland

The National Employment Standards regulate standard provisions regarding annual leave, also known as holiday leave. According to the standards, all workers in Queensland are entitled to a minimum of four weeks of paid annual leave after every year of continuous employment.

Queensland Employment Standards set forth minimum salaries, basic conditions of employment, benefits and entitlement to paid holidays and annual leave. The regular work week in the private sector consists of 38 hours. Employees who work more than 38 hours are compensated by salary increases or compensatory time off.

Queensland has recently instituted an award program, which is similar in nature to an employment agreement. Periodic financial awards are granted to workers based on job performance and length of employment.

Public Holidays 2017

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Queensland Government.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Day
Additional Holiday
26 JanThuAustralia Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatEaster Saturday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
25 AprTueAnzac Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
16 AugWedRoyal Queensland Show
(Brisbane Area Only)
2 OctMonQueen's Birthday
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

Visit for the original release.