Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Northern Territory
Public Holidays

Northern Territory Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Northern Territory public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Although the Northern Territory is divided into 17 local jurisdictions, the Public Holidays Act 1996 regulates public holidays in the state.

The Northern Territory observes New Year’s Day; Australia Day and the four-day Easter holiday lasting from Good Friday through Easter Monday. Workers in the Northern Territory are also entitled to paid holidays for Anzac Day; May Day, also referred to as Labour Day; Queen’s Birthday and Picnic Day, which is observed on the first Monday in August. In addition, workers are entitled to paid days off for Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

Labour Laws in Northern Territory

In the Northern Territory, public holidays are determined by state statutes, employment agreements and the newly-enacted Australian awards program. Workers in the Northern Territory are entitled to 11 paid holidays per year.

If a public holiday falls on a weekend, a replacement or substitute holiday is granted on the first working day of the following week, usually a Monday, If an employee is required to work on a public holiday, compensation is paid at a rate equal to two and one-half times the normal salary. This is referred to as a “penalty rate.”

Additional holidays may be awarded according to employment contracts or the nationwide awards program. The awards program essentially grants benefits to employees based on work performance and length of employment.

Australia has established the Fair Work System, which entitles all workers to paid holidays and annual leave. Workers in the Northern Territory are covered by the national system. All workers throughout Australia are entitled to at least four weeks of paid annual leave after one year of employment. Long-term service is awarded by additional annual leave, depending on the Australian awards program and based on respective employment contracts or union bargaining agreements.

In the event a public holiday falls during a worker’s designated annual leave, replacement days are credited. Annual leave is compensated at an employee’s normal rate of pay.

Public Holidays 2017

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Northern Territory Government.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Day
Additional Holiday
26 JanThuAustralia Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatEaster Saturday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
25 AprTueAnzac Day
1 MayMonMay Day
12 JunMonQueen's Birthday
30 JunFriBorroloola Show Day
7 JulFriAlice Springs Show Day
14 JulFriTennant Creek Show Day
21 JulFriKatherine Show Day
28 JulFriDarwin Show Day
7 AugMonPicnic Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

Visit for the original release.