Start Planning

Australia Public Holidays 2021

This page contains a calendar of all 2021 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

1 JanFriNew Year's Day National
6 JanWedDevonport Cup TAS
26 JanTueAustralia Day National
8 FebMonRoyal Hobart Regatta TAS
24 FebWedLaunceston Cup TAS
1 MarMonLabour Day WA
2 MarTueKing Island Show TAS
8 MarMonLabour Day VIC
8 MarMonCanberra Day ACT
8 MarMonAdelaide Cup Day SA
8 MarMonEight Hours Day TAS
2 AprFriGood Friday National
3 AprSatDay following Good Friday National except TAS & WA
4 AprSunEaster Sunday ACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
5 AprMonEaster Monday National
6 AprTueEaster Tuesday * TAS
25 AprSunAnzac Day National
26 AprMonAnzac Day Holiday National except NSW, TAS & VIC
3 MayMonLabour Day QLD
3 MayMonMay Day NT
31 MayMonReconciliation Day ACT
7 JunMonWestern Australia Day WA
14 JunMonQueen's Birthday National except QLD & WA
2 JulFriAlice Springs Show Day NT
9 JulFriTennant Creek Show Day NT
16 JulFriKatherine Show Day NT
23 JulFriDarwin Show Day NT
2 AugMonPicnic Day NT
20 AugFriBorroloola Show Day NT
24 SepFriAFL Grand Final Friday VIC
27 SepMonQueen's Birthday WA
1 OctFriBurnie Show TAS
4 OctMonLabour Day ACT, NSW & SA
4 OctMonQueen's Birthday QLD
7 OctThuRoyal Launceston Show TAS
15 OctFriFlinders Island Show TAS
21 OctThuRoyal Hobart Show TAS
29 OctFriEkka Holiday * QLD
1 NovMonRecreation Day TAS
2 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day * VIC
26 NovFriDevonport Show TAS
24 DecFriChristmas Eve * NT, QLD & SA
25 DecSatChristmas Day National
26 DecSunBoxing Day National except SA
26 DecSunProclamation Day SA
27 DecMonChristmas Holiday National
28 DecTueProclamation Day Holiday SA
28 DecTueBoxing Day Holiday National except SA
31 DecFriNew Year's Eve * NT & SA
Visit for the original release.

— South Australia and Northern Territory have a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Queensland has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve from 6 pm to midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital TerritorySouth Australia
New South WalesTasmania
Northern TerritoryVictoria
QueenslandWestern Australia