Start Planning

Australia Public Holidays 2023

This page contains a calendar of all 2023 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day National
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday National
11 JanWedDevonport Cup TAS
26 JanThuAustralia Day National
13 FebMonRoyal Hobart Regatta TAS
22 FebWedLaunceston Cup TAS
6 MarMonLabour Day WA
7 MarTueKing Island Show TAS
13 MarMonLabour Day VIC
13 MarMonCanberra Day ACT
13 MarMonAdelaide Cup Day SA
13 MarMonEight Hours Day TAS
7 AprFriGood Friday National
8 AprSatDay following Good Friday National except TAS & WA
9 AprSunEaster Sunday National except SA & TAS
10 AprMonEaster Monday National
11 AprTueEaster Tuesday * TAS
25 AprTueAnzac Day National
1 MayMonLabour Day QLD
1 MayMonMay Day NT
29 MayMonReconciliation Day ACT
5 JunMonWestern Australia Day WA
12 JunMonKing's Birthday National except QLD & WA
7 JulFriAlice Springs Show Day NT
14 JulFriTennant Creek Show Day NT
21 JulFriKatherine Show Day NT
28 JulFriDarwin Show Day NT
7 AugMonPicnic Day NT
16 AugWedEkka Wednesday * QLD
18 AugFriBorroloola Show Day NT
25 SepMonKing's Birthday WA
29 SepFriAFL Grand Final Friday VIC
2 OctMonLabour Day ACT, NSW & SA
2 OctMonKing's Birthday QLD
6 OctFriBurnie Show TAS
12 OctThuRoyal Launceston Show TAS
20 OctFriFlinders Island Show TAS
26 OctThuRoyal Hobart Show TAS
6 NovMonRecreation Day TAS
7 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day * VIC
1 DecFriDevonport Show TAS
24 DecSunChristmas Eve * NT, QLD & SA
25 DecMonChristmas Day National
26 DecTueBoxing Day National except SA
26 DecTueProclamation Day SA
31 DecSunNew Year's Eve * NT & SA
Visit for the original release.

— South Australia and Northern Territory have a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Queensland has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve from 6 pm to midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital TerritorySouth Australia
New South WalesTasmania
Northern TerritoryVictoria
QueenslandWestern Australia