Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2018

This page contains a national calendar of all 2018 public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Public holidays in 2018 will be a great time for you to travel and relax with family or friends, and you can really make the most of them if you start planning now!

Australia has more than the usual number of public holiday long-weekends in 2018, mostly resulting from both New Year’s Day and Australia Day landing on a Monday. Additionally, Christmas and Boxing Day fall on a Tuesday and Wednesday in 2018 – so a five-day weekend can easily be created by taking Christmas Eve off work!

Things to see and do in 2018

There are many ways you can make the most of your public holidays in 2018, such as:

Take a road trip to a holiday destination like Byron Bay in NSW, where you can enjoy a calm atmosphere, warm ocean water and golden beaches, great cafes, and rainforests at your doorstep to hike and explore.

Relax at a quiet bed and breakfast in one of our nation’s numerous winery regions, such as the Barossa Valley in South Australia, Margaret River in Western Australia, and the Hunter Valley in New South Wales.

Board a 2-3 night return cruise in any direction! Head north if you prefer warmer weather, or book a Tasmania cruise if you are prepared for brisk sea breezes and colder temperatures.

Hike and camp in one of our nation’s many glorious national parks. Each state’s national park’s service maintains beautiful hiking paths and camp sites, and there is plenty of information on their respective websites about how long each hike takes. You can also make advance bookings for the campsites.


Choose your state or scroll down for the full calendar

Australian Capital TerritorySouth Australia
New South WalesTasmania
Northern TerritoryVictoria
QueenslandWestern Australia

Public Holidays 2018

1 JanMonNew Year's DayNational
10 JanWedDevonport Cup
(Devonport Only)
26 JanFriAustralia DayNational
12 FebMonRoyal Hobart Regatta
(Hobart Only)
28 FebWedLaunceston Cup
(Launceston Only)
5 MarMonLabour DayWA
6 MarTueKing Island Show
(King Island Only)
12 MarMonCanberra DayACT
12 MarMonMarch Public HolidaySA
12 MarMonEight Hours DayTAS
12 MarMonLabour DayVIC
30 MarFriGood FridayNational
31 MarSatEaster SaturdayNational
(Except TAS & WA)
1 AprSunEaster SundayACT, NSW & VIC
2 AprMonEaster MondayNational
3 AprTueEaster Tuesday ^^TAS
25 AprWedAnzac DayNational
(Circular Head Only)
7 MayMonMay DayNT
7 MayMonLabour DayQLD
4 JunMonWestern Australia DayWA
11 JunMonQueen's BirthdayNational
(Except WA & QLD)
29 JunFriBorroloola Show DayNT
6 JulFriAlice Springs Show DayNT
13 JulFriTennant Creek Show DayNT
20 JulFriKatherine Show DayNT
27 JulFriDarwin Show DayNT
6 AugMonPicnic DayNT
15 AugWedRoyal Queensland Show
(Brisbane Area Only)
24 SepMonQueen's BirthdayWA
1 OctMonLabour DayACT, NSW & SA
1 OctMonQueen's BirthdayQLD
5 OctFriBurnie Show
(Burnie Only)
8 OctMonFamily and Community DayACT
11 OctThuRoyal Launceston Show
(Launceston Only)
19 OctFriFlinders Island Show
(Flinders Island Only)
25 OctThuRoyal Hobart Show
(Hobart Only)
5 NovMonRecreation Day
(All parts of Tasmania that do not
observe Royal Hobart Regatta)
6 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day **VIC
30 NovFriDevonport Show
(Devonport Only)
24 DecMonChristmas Eve *SA
25 DecTueChristmas DayNational
26 DecWedBoxing DayNational
(Except SA)
26 DecWedProclamation Day SA
31 DecMonNew Year's Eve * SA

^^ Restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. 
* South Australia is a part-day public holiday from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
** All of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.