Start Planning

Australia Public Holidays 2019

This page contains a calendar of all 2019 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

1 JanTueNew Year's Day National
9 JanWedDevonport Cup TAS
28 JanMonAustralia Day Holiday National
11 FebMonRoyal Hobart Regatta TAS
27 FebWedLaunceston Cup TAS
4 MarMonLabour Day WA
5 MarTueKing Island Show TAS
11 MarMonLabour Day VIC
11 MarMonCanberra Day ACT
11 MarMonAdelaide Cup Day SA
11 MarMonEight Hours Day TAS
19 AprFriGood Friday National
20 AprSatDay following Good Friday National except TAS & WA
21 AprSunEaster Sunday ACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
22 AprMonEaster Monday National
23 AprTueEaster Tuesday * TAS
25 AprThuAnzac Day National
6 MayMonLabour Day QLD
6 MayMonMay Day NT
27 MayMonReconciliation Day ACT
3 JunMonWestern Australia Day WA
10 JunMonQueen's Birthday National except QLD & WA
28 JunFriBorroloola Show Day NT
5 JulFriAlice Springs Show Day NT
12 JulFriTennant Creek Show Day NT
19 JulFriKatherine Show Day NT
26 JulFriDarwin Show Day NT
5 AugMonPicnic Day NT
14 AugWedEkka Wednesday * QLD
27 SepFriAFL Grand Final Friday VIC
30 SepMonQueen's Birthday WA
4 OctFriBurnie Show TAS
7 OctMonLabour Day ACT, NSW & SA
7 OctMonQueen's Birthday QLD
10 OctThuRoyal Launceston Show TAS
18 OctFriFlinders Island Show TAS
24 OctThuRoyal Hobart Show TAS
4 NovMonRecreation Day TAS
5 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day * VIC
29 NovFriDevonport Show TAS
24 DecTueChristmas Eve * NT, QLD & SA
25 DecWedChristmas Day National
26 DecThuBoxing Day National except SA
26 DecThuProclamation Day SA
31 DecTueNew Year's Eve * NT & SA
Visit for the original release.

— South Australia and Northern Territory have a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— From 2019, Queensland has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve from 6 pm to midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital TerritorySouth Australia
New South WalesTasmania
Northern TerritoryVictoria
QueenslandWestern Australia